Janella Angeles

writer of words & professional failure | fil-am author of the Kingdom of Cards Duology: WHERE DREAMS DESCEND + WHEN NIGHT BREAKS (out Oct 5, 2021 from Wednesday Books!)

When Night Breaks

Book 2 in the Kingdom of Cards duology

The competition is over, but the show has only just begun…

Out from Wednesday Books in October 5, 2021

The sequel and finale to the dark and romantic bestselling Kingdom of Cards duology–where Phantom of the Opera meets Moulin Rouge, this time with a trip down to Hadestown

Pre-order your copy today here!

Cover Design: Kerri Resnick

Cover Art: Micaela Alcaino

For Preorder Campaign + Signed Copies, go here!

Entertaining new characters, clever dueling magic, and a touch of romance cap off an unforgettable tale.
– Kirkus Starred Review –

In Janella Angeles’s When Night Breaks, the dramatic last act of the Kingdom of Cards duology, the stage is set, the spectacle awaits… and the show must finally come to an end.

The competition has come to a disastrous end, and Daron Demarco’s fall from grace is now front page news. But little matters to him beyond Kallia, the contestant he fell for who is now lost to this world and in the hands of a dangerous magician. Daron is willing to do whatever it takes to find her. Even if it means embarking on a dark and treacherous journey, risking more than just his life, with no promise of return.

After awaking in darkness, Kallia has never felt more lost. Especially with Jack by her side, the magician with who has the answers but cannot be trusted. Together, they must navigate a dazzling world where mirrors show memories and illusions shadow every corner, one ruled by a powerful game master who could all too easily destroy the world she left behind — and the boy she can’t seem to forget. With time running out, Kallia must embrace her role in a darker destiny, or lose everyone she loves, forever.


Indiebound         Barnes and Noble         Amazon        Bookshop       Books-A-Million      Powell’s


search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close